TOFD Solution

Your current position:SOLUTION >> TOFD Solution

TOFD Solution to Detection of SC (Strain-cracks)
in the PMP (Press-mounted Parts) of Axle Shaft

Oil-pressing technique is usually employed in the PM (press-mounting) process. The PM quality of the wheel-set is then to be evaluated according to its F-L curve. Currently SW (shear wave) probe with bigger IBA (incident beam angle), LW (longitudinal wave) probe of smaller IBA or a combo of the kind is adopted for manual inspection on the PMP of axle shaft. LW probe of small IBA ( 7°~9°) is often applied to the PMP of the brackets respectively at both ends of the axle. Another example for the application of SW probe with bigger IBA, is to move the probe (45°~63.43°) from the neck of axle towards outer bracket, otherwise from the body of axle towards inner bracket. LW probe with smaller IBA and SW probe with bigger IBA can collectively work out the crack in the PMP arisen from fatigue. Anatomy of the axle with SC indicates that such flaws are generally born in the outer fatigue-stricken zone 300mm away from the axle end and extended inward to some length and width, parallel to the axle. But the veinings of a SC, scaly, should be at some angle between 20°~50°to the normal of the axle. Usually, the echo of a SC is so weak as to escape detection, which becomes a challenge to the inspectors.

TOFD Solution to Detection of SCs in the PMP of Axle Shaft is recommended to be followed with two probes and an encoder for probe-tracking on the axle. The pair of probes, one as initial and the other as terminal, are placed respectively on both sides of the PMP. The “initial”, “terminal” and the encoder are respectively connected to corresponding ports on the TOFD instrument. The process goes just as the axle turning, with the “initial” and the “terminal” kept still. Meanwhile, the TOFD instrument acquires the signals of the echoes and the corresponding positions, and visualizes them. The inspector will then diagnose and quantize the condition of SCs in the PMP of the axle shaft.

Interpretation of the image is key to the TOFD technique. You should have great experience and comprehensive understanding over the object you’re working on. Analyzing software is another important contributor. The accuracy of TOFD technique applied to SCs in the PMP of axle shaft relies on mathematic model of fitted curve worked out from simulation, verification by test block and reasoning with data. The mathematic model of the fitted curve for a SC in the PMP of axle shaft is described by the below formula:

d is the function to L, meaning the “depth” to the curve under changeable value of L.
d0 is the max “depth” to the curve
L is the path by which the axle turns, an arc length. Be the L as 0 when the “depth” is as d0, it shall be: .

Picture 1 shows you how such inspection goes with the CTS- 10 08plus , an efficient TOFD instrument made by Goworld. It is inset with curve-fitting feat , and supplied with a specialized scanner. Fig 1 shows the result of curve -fitting. The curve belonging to the flaw is fitted right at the outline.

Pic 1 Inspection           Fig 1 Fitted Curve           Pic 2 The Axle with SCs

Inspection on axles respectively with and without SCs. The results are shown in Fig 2 & 3.

Fig 2 Axle with SCs                    Fig 3 Axle without SCs

车轴检测

您当前位置:解决方案 >> 车轴检测

车轴压装部位拉伤缺陷TOFD检测方案

车轴压装工艺一般采用注油压装工艺,并依据压装F-L曲线对轮对压装质量进行判定。对车轴压装部位进行探伤,目前常用的方法有手工的小角度纵波探伤和大角度横波探伤,以及采用小角度纵波组合探头方法。小角度纵波探伤时分别在车轴两端面用7°~ 9°纵波探头向轮座压装部位的表面检测;大角度横波探伤时,一般采用K=1~2的斜探头在轴颈上向座外侧扫查,在轴身上向轮座内侧扫查。小角度纵波探伤和大角度横波探伤,可有效的检测出压装部位的疲劳裂纹。对存在拉伤缺陷的车轴解剖发现,压装部位的拉伤缺陷大多发生在距车轴端面 300mm 处的轮座外侧疲劳带并向内侧延伸,有一定的长度,方向与轴线平行,有一定的宽度,其拉伤面毛糙且与轴线垂直方向成一定的夹角,似鱼鳞状,其夹角大多在20°~50°之间。采用小角度纵波探伤或大角度横波探伤,由于拉伤缺陷的特点,其回波信号比较弱,如果稍不注意便造成漏检,对检测人员的要求非常高。

车轴压装部位拉伤缺陷TOFD检测方案是首先安装两个探头和一个用于轴定位的编码器,两个探头分别布置在车轴压装部位的两侧,其中一个探头作为发射探头,另一个探头作为接收探头,并且发射探头、接收探头和编码器分别与超声TOFD成像检测仪相应的端口相连接;然后启动超声TOFD成像检测仪对轴压装部位进行检测,进行检测时,发射探头和接收探头位置保持不变,轴自由旋转,超声TOFD成像检测仪记录回波信号及其位置信息,然后对回波信号进行图像化显示。检测人员根据超声TOFD成像检测仪所显示的图像,即可判断和测量车轴压装部位的拉伤缺陷信息。

TOFD技术关键在于检测图像的判读,图像的判读一方面要靠检测人员良好的经验及对检测对象的全面了解,另一方面专用辅助分析软件非常关键。在开发过程中,通过大量的模拟仿真、试块验证及数据推理,建立了车轴拉伤缺陷拟合曲线的数学模型,为车轴拉伤缺陷的TOFD精确测量打下基础。车轴拉伤检测的拟合曲线数学模型如公式所描述。

d为L的函数,表示弧线的在不同的L值下的实际深度。
d0为弧线深度的最大值。
L为车轴旋转移动的距离,即弧长,为了将深度为d0时,弧长L设为0,取

检测系统如图1所示,采用CTS-1008plus仪器,仪器软件内置有拟合曲线功能,配置专用扫查器,拟合曲线的效果如图2所示,缺陷弧线轮廓与拟合曲线完美拟合。

  • 图1 检测系统

  • 图2 拟合曲线

  • 图3 拉伤缺陷的车轴

分别采用拉伤缺陷车轴、无拉伤缺陷的车轴进行检测,检测结果如图4、图5所示。

  • 图4 车轴拉伤缺陷检测图像

  • 图5 无缺陷车轴检测图像